Traction Control Brakes Test Review

7 Mar

From The Desk of Adam Buehler

International President & Founder http://www.greenknightsmc.com

TCB Brakes Product Review,

When I saw a posting on our Facebook page from Jeff Richards, Green Knights International Military Motorcycle Club Safety Director, asking if anyone tried this new product called TCB (Traction Control Brakes) brakes, I thought “what could this be and can it benefit our members?”  As always Green Knights MMC strives to find new products that help our members, I needed to look further into this.

I started out surfing the internet and found a few articles on the system.  It was an interesting design and they boasted a system that would allow you to have similar results to anti-lock brake systems.  It was easy to find their web site: www.TCBBrakesystems.com and I immediately contacted the company for further information and ask some questions about the product.  In dealing with other companies I rarely get to talk to neither the inventor nor the owner.  This was different.

When I called I spoke directly to the owner/inventor of the TCB system, Mark Lipski.   Mark was more than happy to discuss his product and threw it to me to prove his system wrong.  I thought this could be a great test for us.  Let’s see how this product works and if it could benefit the club.  After several phone calls back and forth, it was decided that a Green Knights test would be in the best interest of all.

Less than a week later I found a small package in the mail and saw it was from TCB.  I could not help but to think “This package was way too small for anything that is going to rival ABS brakes” I opened the package and found three odd looking banjo bolts inside.  After showing it to several other Green Knights from Chapter 1, we all were very interested in the test results.  I had to find out for myself if this is going to work.

Before the testing I wanted to learn as much as I can about this system.  The TCB system is an alternative to ABS brakes.  It allows those of us who do not have ABS to add it to our bikes.

I was first figuring I would have to replace my entire braking system and put in a computer or control box.  I was completely amazed when Mark told me the system was only $79.00 for each wheel in most cases and only affected the brake caliper banjo bolts.  I immediately needed to know more.

The system is simple.  It’s just a small banjo that replaces the current one on your brakes.  The system is designed with an expansion chamber on the top half.  In there is a chamber that has a small bladder in it.  When you hit the brakes, the fluid pushes against the bladder and fills into the expansion chamber creating a controlled compressibility function.  This allows the rider the ability to grab the brakes and come to a controlled stop.  No longer will you grab the brakes and hope not to lock up.

Now it’s testing time.  I wanted to test a bike that I know will show me some results.  After looking at my bikes I had a few choices; 09 Buell, 11 KLR650, 01 Shadow, and my 91 FLHTCU.  I decided the best bike to perform the test on would be the 91 FLHTCU Harley Davidson Tour Glide.  The 91 Tour Glide is a beast, she is 806.9 pounds of American steel and a perfect candidate to test a brake system and find out if it works.  If I could stop this bike in a shorter distance and better controlling, that’s the system for me.

If you want to buy this system I suggest that you first get to know your bike.  Take it out and get a feel for the brakes and how it handles.  Not many of us ever take the time to learn how the bike handles or reacts in situations.  Let alone pay any real attention to the brakes and how they function.  That is until something really does not feel right or something goes wrong.  We plan to fix that.

For our testing I took the Tour Glide out on a bunch of back roads.  Taking the bike to an area in my neighborhood that allowed me to hit some heavy curves and try a few controlled hard stops.  This is not recommend for anyone to try, but I even made sure to hit sand and some gravel areas.  After composing myself and thinking “what am I doing?” I knew I was ready.

The first test was simple.  I was to ride down a road and hit the brakes in a moderate stop.  At 30 mph and stopping at a moderate braking (to the point of hard braking), it took the Tour Glide almost 50 feet to come to a stop.  I measured the distance and documented it.

Next was to put the TCB system onto the bike.  Please note, if you do not have the “know how” or any mechanical skills, I do not recommend putting the system on yourself.  However, if you do have basic mechanical skills, then the system will take 20-30 min to install.  I was informed by TCB a lot of the shops will put them on for you at their normal hourly rate.   The install was simple.  On an average you will spend more time breaking out the tools then what it takes for the install.  It took less then 20 min to install and bleed out my front brakes.  After I was done, I instantly felt different in the brake leaver.  I was eager to get out on the road.  I needed a road test!

Part two of the test I used the same roads and testing areas as in the first part of the test.  I immediately noticed a difference.  The brakes felt smother and the breaking crisper.  I was able to grab the leaver and the brakes would not lock up.  It aided me in bringing the bike to a sharper stop.  As a side note, I have to admit the TCB system might have saved my life.  I was riding home from work and an H3 Hummer pulled out in front of me, as they pulled out a school bus in front of them stopped and put on their flashers to let off some school kids.  We have all been there so many times.  The quick reaction the scanning for an area to slide off to, making sure I lock up the bike correctly, and ditch if need be.  I seriously thought this was it.  I reacted and grabbed the brakes hard.  The bike stopped in a very short distance and did not lock up.  I was amazed at how the system functioned.  I know I would have had to look for the out path and possibly stop along side the H3 or even go into the rear if I had locked up.  The brake system has so far proved itself to me and we are going to pass along savings to all GKMMC members.  TCB is offering special discounts to all GKMMC members.

Presently the TCB Brake Systems website may be down for a major makeover to introduce the new gas charged TCB II, so for information purposes you can visit his blog; http://tcbbrakes.wordpress.com/

Mark has also informed me if anyone wishes to contact him directly for additional information please feel free to do so.

Mark Lipski Inventor & Owner

TCB Brake Systems

lipskimark@yahoo.com

903 569 2998

One Response to “Traction Control Brakes Test Review”

  1. tcbbrakes March 7, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    Thank you Adam for doing the initial test of the TCB Brake System!
    The website http://www.tcbbrakesystems is up and running again!

    I’ll look forward to answering all GK comments

Leave a comment